24 Hours of Le Mans (18/19 June)

Ni Amorim in the 24 Hours of Le Mans with Courage Renault-Mecachrome

 Ni Amorim will be present in the next edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, at the wheel of a Courage Renault-Mecachrome, of Noel del Bello Racing. It will be is fifth start on the most important endurance race of the world.

“Although we had some mechanical problems last Sunday, during pre-qualifying, I believe they will be solved and we will have a competitive and reliable car for the race”, explained Ni Amorim.

The Portuguese driver will share the wheel of the Courage Renault-Mecachrome – with R. Ianetta and Ch. Pillon, as a vast experience in this endurance, with, in GT class, one second and third places in a Chrysler Viper of Oreca and Chamberlain, respectively. The last participation of Ni Amorim was in 2001, with an Oreca Dallara Judd.

“I am optimistic we will get a good result, and if we can make it till the finishing line, I believe we will be in the LMP2 podium”, commented Ni Amorim




British GT Championship/Brands Hatch

Ni Amorim, the winner!

Ni Amorim is the winner of the British GT Championship 2004, category GT Class Cup. A victory guaranteed after the 4th place in the first race of the last double journey of the Championship, helded this weekend at Brands Hatch. Because of that, the portuguese driver was much more relaxed for the second race, scoring one beautiful second place:

"That's a great day for me! This championship was very strong, with very good drivers and very competitive cars. For me, be Champion there was wonderful. Here, there are very beautiful and difficult tracks, and really I like that."

Ni Amorim shared a DRM Racing's Ferrari 360 Modena with young britton Adam Wilcox, and wins one race. This victory, with another 10 places in the podium, means a strong regularity during all season. And that means the title:

"That's true. Be regular in the three first places was the key for winning the Championship."

Classification: Race 1 - 1st Attard/Adams (Ferrari 360 Modena), 1h00m53,734s; 2nd Lester/Simonsen (Ferrari 360), a 4,608s; 3rd Ahlers/Scott (Morgan Aero 8), a 23,780s; 4th Amorim/Wilcox (Ferrari 360 Modena), a 30,521s.

Race 2 - 1st Lesniewski/Sharpe (Porsche GT3), 1h00m37,441s; 2nd Amorim/Wilcox (Ferrari 360 Modena), a 1 v.; 3rd Ahlers/Scott (Morgan Aero 8), a 1 v.

Championship - 1st Ni Amorim e Adam Wilcox, 94 pontos; 3rd Adam Sharpe, 74; 4th Gavan Kershaw e Barrie Whight, 66.